Awards 2018-03-20T22:49:25+00:00

Houston TAAP is currently accepting Annual Award Nominations for 2018

Nominations are now being accepted for the three annual awards presented to members of the addiction treatment, education, prevention and intervention community: Counselor of the Year, Addiction Professional of the Year, and Hall of Fame. You must be a current TAAP member to nominate someone, and, the nominee must also be a current TAAP member. The award recipients will be presented before their peers at the Annual Awards Brunch at the Houston Spectrum Conference in October

Individual portfolios containing supporting documentation and completed nomination form must be submitted to Peter Mott no later than April 2, 2018.  

To nominate an individual for an Award:
Mail a hard-copy of a Nomination Packet (see description of required documents below)
Or fill out the form HERE

Packet should be sent to: 
Houston Chapter TAAP Awards Committee, PO Box 131924, Houston, TX 77219

Nominations must be submitted no later than April 2, 2018.

Incomplete nomination forms will NOT be considered.

All nominees must be current members of TAAP. 

Questions can be sent to Peter Mott at

Award Categories


General Criteria

  • Nominees must meet the criteria of the award they are nominated for. (See the links above.)
  • Any TAAP member in good standing may nominate someone or an agency providing clinical services in the form of counseling, education, intervention, prevention or treatment.
  • One nominee may be chosen each year to receive the award.
  • Award recipients will be announced at the Annual Spectrum Conference held in the Fall.

A complete packet will include answers to the following questions:

  • Nominee’s name, certification(s) and license(s) held and which award you are nominating them for.
  • TAAP Chapter, person, group or agency submitting the nomination
  • Nominee’s work history; particularly direct field experience in a counseling relationship with clients.
  • List awards, accomplishments and achievements from other health service professionals.
  • List involvement in TAAP/TCBAP; specify type and extent of service (i.e., local, state or national).
  • List publication of papers, public presentations and/or teaching accomplishments
  • List outstanding service in counseling citizens disabled by substance abuse (an emphasis area in award consideration)
  • Indicate nominee’s formal education (although important, this is not an emphasis area).
  • Document all claims where possible.
  • Nominee’s previous awards and/or recognitions given to this individual by civic, fraternal, legal, and religious organizations for community service.
Houston Chapter TAAP Leaders through the years…
Chapter Presidents Spectrum Conference Chairs
1978 Bob Eaken 1986 Joan Shellene
1979 Roger Cadwalder 1987 Joan Shellene/ Nancy Sides
1980 Bo Neal 1991 Beverly Gibbs
1981 Leo Rayburn 1992 Bill Case
1982 Becky Hile 1993 Matthew Feehery
1983 Bill Riley 1994 Matthew Feehery
1984-85 Joan Shellene 1995 Matthew Feehery
1986 Kathy Davis 1996 Kay Austin
1987 Pat Patrick 1997 Ellen Horst
1988 Karen Hicks 1998 Ellen Horst
1990-91 Mary Lawson 1999 Keith Liles
1992 Sharon Logan 2000 Keith Liles
1993 Bill Case 2001 Keith Liles
1994 Jim Keesy 2002 Becca Morelli
1995 Jim Patterson 2003 Nancy Daughtry
1995-96 Matthew Feehery 2004 Frank Pietrowski
1996 Jackie Bethke 2005 Ruthann Adam
1997 Lauren Chohen 2006 Ruthann Adam
1998 John Cales 2007 Delphi Medina
1999-00 Ellen Horst 2008 Stacie Allphin
2001 Jennifer Carr 2009 Stacie Allphin
2002-04 Keith Liles 2010 Sonya Adams
2005-07 Frances Winser 2011 Stacie Allphin
2007-09 Ellen Horst 2012 DeAudra Whiting
2009-10 Frank Pietrowski 2013 Ellen Joe
2011-12 Stacie Allphin 2014 Peter Mott
2012-14 Ellen Joe 2015
2014-16 Neville E. Pottinger Jim Keesy Spectrum Award
Chapter Member of the Year 1997 Keith Liles
1999 Keith Liles 1998 Frank Pietrowski
2000 Keith Liles 1999 Ellen Horst
2001 Jennifer Carr and 2000 Nancy Daughtry
Robin Hesse 2001 Becca Morelli
2002 Frances Winser and 2002 Abi Williams
Frank Pietrowski 2003 Robin Hesse
2003 Ellen Horst 2004 Congetta Bryant
2004 Larry Douglas 2005 Sonya Adams
2005 Ruthann Adam 2006 Keith Liles
2006 Michael Yeager 2007 Charlie Long
2010 Sonya Adams 2008 Carol Cloud
2011 DeAudra Whiting 2009 Sonya Adams
2012 Peter Mott and 2010 Ellen Horst
Neville Pottinger 2011 Keith Liles
2013 George Youngblood 2012
2014 2013 Conference Committee
2015 2014 Nichole Parker &
Chapter Counselors of the Year Helena Washington
1993 Matthew Feehery 2015
1995 Karen Hicks-McKibben Chapter Addiction Professional of the Year
1996 Shirley Courier 2004 Keith Liles * **
1997 Lauren Cohen 2005 Matthew Feehery *
1999 George Joseph * ** 2007 Kay Austin
2000 John Cates * ** 2008 Tom Irving
2001 Keith Liles 2009 Marcia Baker
2003 Jennifer Carr * 2010 Ellen Joe
2005 Suzy Reierson 2011 Jane Barnes
2006 Nancy Daughtry * 2012 Ernest Patterson
2007 Neville Pottinger * ** 2013 Linda Kagey
2008 Patricia Webber 2014 Eddie DeRoulet
2009 Sonya Adams 2015 Sandy Olsen
2010 Stacie Allphin * Chapter Hall of Fame Members
2011 Carol Delongchamps Carla Harper
2012 Ernest Patterson Jim Keesey
2013 Linda Kagey Margaret Listenberger
2014 Ava Profota Frank Pietrowski
2015 Peter Mott Phyllis Green
Kay Austin
* State Recipient Matthew Feehery
** National Recipient Keith Liles
D. Frank Davis
Ellen Kirby Joe